Girl Talk @ All Points West: A View From The Pit

August 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

Last Friday, I saw Girl Talk perform live at the All Points West music festival at Liberty State Park. For those of you unfamiliar with his music, I recently wrote a lengthy post here about how this laptop DJ’s mashup style perfectly reflects this moment in time. As expected, his set at APW was insane. Emerging right as Underworld was beginning their famous Trainspotting hit “Born Slippy” on the main stage, GT quieted the crowd in a nod to his elders. A moment later, he turned the page on the British geezers.

After a chaotic hour of cross dressers, toilet paper and unidentified flying inflatables, Girl Talk let his laptop do the work and rode a wobbly air mattress into the crowd. Falling awkwardly into a pit of worshipping young fans, he called his high paced set to an end. As we all hobbled off, sweaty and exhausted, I exchanged a few words with a guy on line for $4 water. “What’s the name of that band up next?” I asked jokingly. “I think they’re called Radiohead or something,” he replied. For us, at least, the highlight of the night came right before the beloved headliners.

This morning I was reading the NYTimes recap of the show, and what did I see in their slide show? Me! Well, to be fair, it’s more like mini-me, but if you look closely under Girl Talk’s right shoulder, there I am taking a picture with my digital camera.

(Photo courtesy of NYTimes)

Don’t believe me? Well, check out this awesome shot I grabbed at that very moment. In the spirit of Girl Talk, feel free to use this copyright-free picture below whenever and wherever you’d like!

— Johnny

Entry filed under: Art + Music, Inspiration, People.

Discover Card’s “Nation of Consumers” Tony Dusko Animates Learning

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



