iPhone Update: The Boyfriend Phenomenon

July 17, 2008 at 5:58 pm Leave a comment

I’m excited about the new iPhone. But not because I’ll be able to surf the web at the speed of light– because my fiance is giving me his “old” one while he upgrades.

Interestingly, over the past 5 days, I have met an astonishing number of women who are also eagerly awaiting their significant others’ iPhones, including a 65 year-old lady next to me at a bar. (Techie-feminists, don’t get upset. It’s not that I don’t value or can’t afford to get a new iPhone, I just don’t think I need it. And that is the difference between me and my bethrothed).

It raises some intriguing questions. I wonder if the prescient Apple team has thought about the “Significant-Other-Hand-Me-Down” experience. Will second-hand users have the same reverence for the phone without having undergone the same product initiation? Does it mark a new type of relationship with phones where they are valuable enough not to just throw out or recycle?

My friend John said to me, “You’re just cheap.” Maybe so, but I can’t wait to get my hands on my new phone. And I bet John’s (apparently cheap) girlfriend can’t wait either. –Kat

Entry filed under: Technology.

Remember Hypercolors? American Apparel Does Girl Talk Looks Forward To The Past

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



