The Hard Knock Life of a Diabetic Rapper

May 22, 2008 at 5:32 pm 2 comments

It seems US Weekly isn’t the only magazine reminding us that celebs are people too. Last month’s XXL featured an interview with 24 year old Baton Rouge rapper Torrence Hatch, aka Lil Boosie, on his struggle with diabetes. Having spent some time researching how people cope with this burdensome disease, I wasn’t surprised by how Boosie initially took the news. “The first couple years, I struggled with it. I was in and out the hospital. I just ain’t wanna face the fact that I really had this shit. I’d go a month without taking my insulin shots, so I was just throwin’ up, losin’ weight, all kinds of shit. It was hard.”

As a friend of mine likes to say, “no one is unemotional about food.” Clearly, diabetics are no exception. But rest assured young G’s, Lil Boosie has begun to face the disease with the enlightened attitude one might expect from the dirty south rapper who once spit “you can tell I got cake, I got diamonds in my teeth.” As long as you ain’t eating that cake Torrence, you should be fine. Later in the article, Boosie offers up more (hysterical) words of wisdom. “Sometimes I eat what I want, and I have to take an extra insulin shot to bring my blood sugar down. That’s where I have a problem. But most times I abide by a diet. I don’t drink alcohol at all. Really, I just smoke, and weed come from the earth, so it be helping me sweat my diabetes out.” In other news, the American Diabetes Association is still looking for a celebrity spokesperson.

– Johnny

For those of you thinking you might have diabetes, check out this link. Also, here are some healthy eating tips for diabetics.

And for Boosie fans, check out the “Wipe Me Down” video below…

Entry filed under: Art + Music, Food, People. Tags: .

Yogurt Can Do Anything! Current TV Mocks Activia, Yoplait Memorialize This

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marsheayla  |  August 6, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Bossie im a diabetic too i feel your pain u can get through it cause i got through it

    Reply
  • 2. lw  |  November 10, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    i’m a diabetic and i like boosie and rap, so i put them all together on this video for youtube. enjoy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

